It’s There Somewhere

We had our sanity,
A child’s sanity,
For a short–too short–a while.

As teens we turned sanity on its head
And how good it was
How much figuring it out we did.

Many went happily on
Some of us got electrocuted by something
Laid out hard, sometimes making things better
In a sense
Some times burning us hard.

We know we won’t live long. Now we’re creative,
Outcasts, retards, socially inept,
Not normal, like the people who get frustrated with us,
Who frustrate us,
Because they’re so fucking routine stoic normal
To the point where you want to shake them or
Leave them, or get so upset with them
That you don’t want their world anymore.

Sometimes I think, through example, I can cope.
But I get normal advice from normal people
And I ditch the ones I truly love.

I’m alone amongst the sanes,
I am bored, I am lonely, and I want to leave them.

I will leave this place for nowhere.
Î can’t be a child again.
I can’t ruin anything anymore
Somewhere, people like me have a mansion
A mansion painted purple,
Where we can draw on the walls,
And keep closed the blinds.

2 responses to “It’s There Somewhere

  1. The rhythm of this poem really gets me. It’s so sad, and lonely. Just as the narrator feels. Sound echoes sense.

    “Some of us got electrocuted by something
    Laid out hard, some times making things better
    In a sense
    Some times burning us hard.”

    Beautiful use of “hard” coming back twice.

    “Because they’re so fucking routine stoic normal
    To the point where you want to shake them or
    Leave them, or get so upset with them
    That you don’t want their world anymore.”

    Love the way that one flows.

    Great job, Ken. And I believe that you do live in a purple mansion where you can draw on the walls… I believe your blinds are half-open, though, because people get glimpses of your beautiful and chaotic inner world.

    • Thank-you, Ashes; it means a lot to me that you’ve put in the time and effort to leave such a thoughtful comment. Now I’m afraid that I’ll mess it up if I give it the editing I had planned for it, however! I’m an impatient poster of these poems, and usually don’t correct them as I should before putting them into the wild.

      I hope you’re right, but sometimes I do feel like I need to draw the blinds quite tightly. I hope we can continue to work together on our project sometime soon; I hope you’ll stick around, and that that happens.

No.

